Latest News: The Last Night of the Proms takes place on Saturday 9 September and Guernsey Harbours have kindly agreed that ...

Logs & Blogs

Have an adventure to share? Let us know…


This facility is open to all club members to display their logs & blogs, be they of current or past cruises.

Please advise Vanessa ( if you have a blog for us to post on this page!  The Merryl Lyle Cruising Trophy is awarded to the best entry and is presented at the Annual Dinner & Dance in February.

Over the last few years the number of members entering the Log Competition has declined.  Few members now seem to keep narrative logs.  This decline is probably partly due to those who undertake significant cruises using blogs on the internet to keep their family and friends informed of their progress. As a result the Competition is now open to “Logs & Blogs”.

There is only one rule: the cruise must be under the RCIYC burgee. The boat (motor or sail) does not need to be owned by the entrant and can be chartered or flotilla.




Jonathan & Dawn Pooley, local members, fly the RCIYC burgee on their catamaran ‘Escapade’.

They left Guernsey for the Caribbean in 2014 where they have spent the last 2 winters.

Please click HERE to view their blog and follow them on their travels.

Martin Soons who circumnavigated Britain on his Broadblue catamaran Alexandria.

Please click HERE to view his blog.

Peter Watson who sailed his FPB64 Grey Wolf back to Guernsey from Auckland, New Zealand.

Please click HERE to view his blog.


Recent Past Winners of the Competition:
2000 Franglaise Don & Tattie Thompson
2001 Symphony J. Cullington
2002 Star Ed & Jenny Duncan
2003 Star Ed & Jenny Duncan
2004 Fleur d’Ecosse Ed & Jenny Duncan
2005 Baltrachian S. & K. Paine
2006 Majic 2 Peter Howe
2008 Odyssey of Canada Martin Lewis
2009 Calypso David & Anne Marie Mitchison
2011 Cygonie Roland & Carol Guille
2012 Strider Stuart & Sarah Crisp
2013 Play d’éau Piers & Lin du Pré
2014 Alexandria II Martin Soons
2015 Bo Bridget Roger Martel